Day 2

Getting out there on day two had its challenges.  The carbon monoxide beeper was going off when I got home from work, the dogs, who were left inside because of the weather, decided to sleep on our bed and it was COVERED in dog hair, I had no idea what to cook for dinner, blisters on the heels, just general I don’t have time for this thoughts…you get the picture.  Leaving it all behind, I reluctantly got dressed and went for my walk.  I don’t have any gadgets so I think I am doing about 2 miles.  I was able to run up one hill and walk the rest.  I used my Ipod and tried to clear my head for the 40 minute walk-a-thon.  It still isn’t the thrill of my life to be doing this, but it must be done.

At this point I am telling myself “You are training for a 1/2 Marathon” so get out there and do something.  Even if training for it means I am only walking a little bit, I am still ‘in training’.  When we had the big flood of Atlanta a few years ago, we were victims.  Our whole basement flooded (we used it as a rental for people but no one was living in it at the time).  It was such an overwhelming clean-up, but all we could do is pick up one item at a time and bring it out, one item at and time and tote in upstairs.  Such is my training.  One step at at time to build my endurance, one step at a time toward being a runner.

 

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 2

  1. Karla says:

    Thanks for the neat blog.

Leave a Reply

