Day 5

Day 5 seems like day 100 to me.  I have been doing this for less than a week and it already feels like an eternity.  Two hours before I got off of work, my head starts telling me that I am too tired, I have a headache, one day of rest will be okay because I did it yesterday.  I have been around long enough to know that most people struggle when the dueling begins in the mind:  To work out or not to work out, that is the question.   You ask them how they overcome it and replies sound something like “I work out in the morning” or “I go straight to the gym before I even go home”.  My trick, since I go home before I walk, is to get into my workout gear immediately.  I throw my work clothes on the floor and just go.  I don’t pick up, straighten up, put things away, NOTHING!!  Just go.

My dearest friend, who is a marathoner (photo of us and her daughter when she came to visit-we both ride Harleys) gave me a pep talk yesterday and basically said it can take a few months to get into the habit of exercising and it is pure mental willpower i.e it sucks but do it anyway!!  This is from a girl who trains in the dead of winter snow in Washington State, so she knows what she is talking about.

On a sidenote, yesterday was the first day I discovered I officially have old lady cleavage.  You know it’s coming (one day), but the day you actually see it staring back at you in the mirror is quite horrifying.  At first I thought it was the bra, but it’s back again today with a different bra, so imagine it is here to stay. I have seen it for years, I mean, I am biker and you see all types of cleavage (old and young) at biker rallys, you just hope to goodness it never happens to you….but deep down, you know it will……eventually.

 

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Do it anyway. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

