Day 6

Tired.  Plain and simple.   Mental note to self:  Do not book every weekend in January with plans, after Christmas you are too tired and need rest.

I have found there is no magic moment coming my way where I will WANT to exercise.  It will always be a struggle for me and I suspect, most people out there.   How many countless hours are spent beating ourselves up over not doing it?  I accepted yesterday that even though I was sore and tired, I must go walk anyway (hating every minute of it until I got up that first hill, then Ms. Wannabe got her groove back).  I think I have just been waiting to feel like working out and until that feeling washed over me, I could easily rationalize why I wasn’t going to do anything.  So I am in on the secret now, I GET IT….you don’t have to WANT to exercise, you just have to do it anyway…cussing and screaming and dragging arse down the street.

Thank goodnes for IPods.  What a great way to have ALL my favorites play one after the other.  Remember excercising with the walkman and cassette?  I must have played Def Leppard over and over and over again on that thing.  I have the whole soundtrack of Valley Girl on my player.  I never know what will play next…Toto, Daddy Yankee, Ruben Blades, Van Halen,  Marvin Gaye…… (If you don’t remember Valley Girl than you are too young to be reading my blog).

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Do it anyway. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

