Day 10

Day 10 is actually week 3.  I was miraculously excited about exercising yesterday.  I had 2 runs last week and did very well, able to run most of my route.  The route itself is about 2 miles but it has very nice, cardiac inducing hills.  Shaped like a horseshoe standing straight up…the hill is way up and way down.  Being able to run all the way up the hill (feeling like I have a sack of potatoes tied to my waste) is a big victory for me and I was curious to see if I could do it again.  The recovery last week was critical as accomplishing that goal left my body tired and somewhat sore, so I only did it twice.

I was able to run it and add a cul-de-sac (i.e. another small hill).  At this point I am less concerned about distance and time and more about endurance and getting my heartbeat UP!

I find that not stretching afterwards has and will cause me  some setbacks.  I can tell my Achilles tendon is inflamed and sore and it is my fault for not stretching.  Once the pain is there, it is too late to do any prevention and I am not sure what I will do in the next week. 

I am still in love with exercising with my leggings instead of my Old Navy wind resistance pants.  I had to find a long shirt to cover my dierre…most chics of a certain weight know you can’t wear a tight bottom and tight top…you must try to even it out with tight bottom, big shirt or tight shirt, roomy bottom or you will end up looking like a can of busted biscuits.

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Stretch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

