Post 15

It was totally expected and no shock to me that I would go through a time of “I just can’t do this, I don’t want to do this, I am not going to do this, I don’t care, I am a loser, I am too fat, forget it…” stage.  I barely hung on, but hang on I did with a little walk here and short run there.  I am still forging ahead because A). I really want to to do this and B). I really want a new pair of running shoes and there is no way we can budget for it if I am not actually running and showing my husband that I am committed.  

I mapped out the miles on my route, which has made me a little more focused on exactly how much I am running  (2 miles).  2 miles is better than no miles and by the end of the month I hope I can double that.

Then there was also the matter of my eating.  It took a “Honey I just ate the whole box of cookies” moment with my husband for him to realize that buying and bringing that stuff into the house only causes me to stumble in a BIG way and he won’t get to eat it anyway because I will demolish it during the night while reading a book or watching Jimmy Fallon.  So he GOT it and is accepting that for this season in our life, he will not be able to buy Cinnabons or Wedding Cookies or 20 lbs of Bacon…..

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post 15

  1. joan says:

    Buy the shoes, it will MAKE you run!! In the beginning B took me out and bought me a pair of Nike running shoes that cost apx $65, I barely ran at all at the time but I “wanted” to and I opened my big mouth. After getting those shoes, no matter what, I would drag myself out to the gym or my running routes and run, run, run every day no matter how much I hated it. I was miserable and I sucked so bad but I would look down at those running shoes nearly the whole time and just think to myself that ‘I gotta keep going and get my money;s worth’, ‘cant quit until I wear the shoes out and get all our money out of them’ !!! LOL! So, do wait…. put them in the plan and get ’em.
    Way to go!!!! You are Great!!!!

Leave a Reply

