Post 23

Remember when Tom Cruise was cool?  I don’t know anyone who can’t complete this sentence:  “I feel the need, the………”

Speed is what has been on my mind this week.  I learned a valuable lesson about it last Saturday at the charity walk-a-thon we did.  I thought for sure I would blow it out being that the track was flat, no problem.  In, out, the end.  Surprisingly, I was only able to run a mile and I was dying.  After the walk, we went to a coffeehouse and I comtemplated what the problem was.  I was running up hills in my daily runs, I must be strong as a horse.  Why was I unable to make it on a flat surface? I made a mental note to google when I got home.  What I found was that yes, running up hill (aka trudging up hill very slowly) builds strength, but I was not building any speed.  I read the following:  Break out of that comfort zone with a little speedwork now and then, and the body will learn to deal with the new demands. The heart will get stronger, the cardiovascular system more efficient, the muscles better able to function at full force. That will translate to greater strength, faster times, easier daily runs. And you’ll just plain feel better.

Getting back to Tom Cruise. 

 

Who would have thought falling in love with Katie and jumping up and down on Oprah’s couch would doom his career?  I really can’t say too many bad things about the man.  It is what it is.  There was a time when I would not miss a TC movie the opening weekend for anything.  M&M’s in hand, lets get there early for good seats.  I actually really liked the last Mission Impossible IMAX movie.  I still love Risky Business and yes, The Outsiders.  That movie was a Teen Beat dream come true.  Posters gallore up on the wall. Getting back to running.

I did make some changes this week.  I choose to keep some of my hill work, but incorporated 2 semi-flat routes in my routine.  It has enabled me to go from 2 mile run/walks to 3 mile runs.  My speedwork is sluggish but I am trying to focus on running fast from one street light to the next.  It is paying off.  I have actually had to have a few rest days because I am sore and tired.  My mind is still focused on getting back into my summer pants more than running a race, but gaining speed and distance for a future race is not too far back in my brain.

Back to Tom Cruise.

What can you say?  I wish him well.  I am sure his new movie Rockstar will be embarressing to watch.  Maybe he will pull a Travolta one day and Taratino will put him in a cool movie.  Stay Gold Tom, Stay Gold.

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

