Post 24

No two ways about it.  I have been an ill pill this week, so has my husband.  When you are both in a bad mood, you just acknowledge it, work around it, and be cool and try not push any buttons.  As the week moves closer to Friday, the stress is less.  I am getting off of work early on Friday to go see The Avengers.  I hope to ride my motorcycle this weekend.  I also hope our dogs do not get out of the yard today.  Dog issues could be a full on novel of a post, but I am the one who adopted 3 dogs, so who am I to complain?

There have been no excuses this week.  I would have rather curled up on the couch and cried, whined and punched a pillow than get out there and run.  But what could I tell myself?  Stay home because you feel like poo (nice way of putting it)?  Was that going to be my reason?  I am not running because I don’t feel like it?  I RAN.  Oh yes, I ran and I hated every freaking minute of it.  I knew today would be my rest day so I had to push it out everyday after work.  There was a reward in the end, by day 3, my route was smoother, I was able to run most of the way without a walk break. I had 30 seconds of pure joy when I could actually see myself running more distance in the near future.  Valuable lessons were learned this week.  No regrets.

 

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post 24

  1. joan says:

    It takes such strength and discipline to force yourself out there when its the Last thing you want to do. And, great great great job on completing that run without walking!!!! I soooo admire your determination!! love ya!

  2. Auntie Ann says:

    I prefer to avoid looking into the mirror very much. I am what I feel that I am … too young to have kids your age! No matter what the mirrors or photos tell me … I refuse to think old, act old.
    Sorry about your animals. It’s tough dealing with their illnesses especially when you know there’s not going to be better days for them. We’ve had to put several of ours down and it is hard. Even though we have a sweet dog in our lives right now, I miss pets from the past. They’ll always have a place in my heart.
    Keep running …. I walk, not run and need to do it more.

Leave a Reply

