Other Blogs I Enjoy

One of the first blogs I started to follow a few years back was The Pioneer Woman.  I don’t know how I found her but I became intrigued by the story she wrote about how she met her husband (From High Heels to Tractor Wheels).  She was a University of Southern California  grad, home for a break in Oklahoma on her way to Chicago to make a name for herself when she met her husband (she calls him the Marlboro Man) , fell in love and became a cattle ranchers wife.

I bought her first cookbook and have enjoyed making a few recipes but continue to try and master her famous cinnamon rolls.  She loves to fill her cookbooks with her photography, which is the main reason she started her blog. 

I also bought her childrens book Charlie the Ranch Dog.  I read it to my grandboys and they know all the words.  They are too young to read so instead of saying Charlie, I say Jackie (my precious beagle, the love of my life).  Everytime they spend the night they say: Read us the Jackie book.   I guess when they learn to read and discover it says Charlie and not Jackie, I will have to tell them to Hush, don’t you correct your Nana!!!!

Jackie on left.  I could totally do a seperate blog on him and how cute he is and how much I LOVE him.

Recently under her Home and Garden Section, she had butterflty necklaces that her friend made and featured on Etsy – SOUTHERNHEIDIBELLE http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeandgarden/2012/07/butterfly-necklaces-from-southern-heidi-belle/

I am not one to purchase jewlery on the fly.  The necklaces caught my attention and I eyed them for a few days.   After mulling it over, I decided to purchase one.  It fits my style…natural, boho, relaxed kinda fashion i.e. Fashion Bug meets Walmart.

You do have to tie it around the neck which takes time to make sure it is secure but I think I will wear this piece for a long time to come.

What is your recent jewlery purchase?

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
This entry was posted in Favorite Blogs I enjoy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

