Growing out the Gray and the Pixie

This was me.
Just middle-aged, having a good time with my long blonde hair.
IMG_20130824_230031

One thing, as an adopted person, you have no idea what you will look like as you age. No gauge to go by…I look like Auntie or I have grandma’s eyes and gray hair. Gray hair came about slow. It didn’t bother me, I was rather fascinated by it. I have a tiny bit throughout, heaviest at the temples. I tried for the first year to color and blend, but it always grows back and I am not one to visit the salon every six weeks. No thank you. So this happened.
IMG_20140821_094156

I spent 2014 growing and cutting, growing and cutting. December 2014, I wanted ALL color out….So this happened.
IMG_20141204_163915

I LOVED it…I finally felt so free. So myself. So unchained to my hair for the first time in my life. Break off the shackles of my hair defining how attractive I was (did I mention I ride a Harley & hair is everything?) No my husband wasn’t thrilled but he was supportive. It took me awhile to get good products and learn how to style it.
IMG_20141219_073412

Fast forward to Spring 2015. I had to wear hoodies all winter because my neck and ears were cold. I got bored. I didn’t want the maintenance. What would it feel like to grow my hair out some and have my OWN hair color for the first time since 1982. Me: Month 5 of growth:
20150504_092353

About thefortyexpress

I do not fear getting older, HOWEVER, I am shocked when I see photos of my 40something year old self. I sometimes don't know what to do with all of this. How to merge the young girl I was with the old bag I am now???? What do you get? A hot mess is what you get. Maybe that is what a mid-life crisis is, trying to merge the old with the now.....
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

